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INTRODUCTION 

Sexual assault, domesƟc violence and stalking are acts intended 
to inƟmidate, hurt, humiliate, degrade, dominate and control 
another person.  If something like this has happened to you, it 
was not your fault.  The person that did this to you is to blame; 
you did not deserve it or ask for it.   

If you have been a vicƟm of crime, you have rights. 

The following informaƟon is intended as a basic guide for vicƟms 
of violent crime in Franklin County.  Sexual assault, domesƟc vio-
lence and stalking are violent crimes addressed in this booklet. 

Crime vicƟms are oŌen afraid to talk about what has happened to 
them.  They may be unsure how the court system works, or they 
may be afraid of what will happen to them, their family, or the 
perpetrator.  While these are common feelings, there are places 
that you can go for assistance if you have been the vicƟm of 
sexual assault, domesƟc violence or stalking. 

The agencies listed in this booklet have experience working with 
diverse populaƟons.  They will aƩempt to provide you with ser-
vices or refer you to programs familiar with your situaƟon. 

This booklet is not intended as a complete guide to community 
resources.  Crime vicƟms are strongly encouraged to contact the 
agencies menƟoned in this booklet for more detailed informaƟon 
and community resources. 

As a vicƟm, you may be eligible to receive compensaƟon through 
the Ohio VicƟms of Crime CompensaƟon Program.  Contact this 
program directly for more informaƟon. 

 

Remember – you are not responsible for the offender’s behavior 
and cannot control or change their behavior. 
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 Asha - Ray of Hope - (614) 326-2121   
   www.asharayoĬope.org 
 Asian American Community Services - (614) 220-4023  
 24 hour helpline, (614) 266-4208   
 www.aacsohio.org 
 BRAVO (Buckeye Region AnƟ-Violence OrganizaƟon) - 

 (614) 294-7867   
  www.bravo-ohio.org 
 The Buckeye Ranch Common Ground -  
 (614) 594-9017 
 www.buckeyeranch.org/programs/common-
 ground 
 Capital University Law School Family Advocacy Clinic - 
 (614) 236-6779   
 www.law.capital.edu 
 The Center for Family Safety and Healing -  
       (614) 722-8200 
 www.naƟonwidechildrens.org/tcfsh 
 Central Ohio Area Agency on Aging - (614) 645-7250 
 www.coaaa.org 
 CHOICES (DomesƟc Violence 24-hour hotline) - 
  (614) 224-4663 
  www.choicescolumbus.org 
 Columbus City Prosecutor’s Office,  DomesƟc Violence 

& Stalking Unit - (614) 645-6232   
        www.columbuscityaƩorney.org/prosecuƟon-dv.aspx 
 Columbus City Prosecutor’s Office - (614) 645-7385   
 www.columbuscityaƩorney.org 
 

     IF YOU ARE IN FEAR OR DANGER CALL 911 
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 Columbus Division of Police (non-emergency) -  
 (614) 645-4545   
 www.columbuspolice.org 
 Columbus Division of Police DomesƟc Violence Unit - 
 (614) 645-7225 
 Columbus Division of Police Special VicƟms Bureau -  
 (614) 645-4701 
 Columbus Public Health Department - (614) 645-7772   
 www.publichealth.columbus.gov 
 Community Refugee and ImmigraƟon Services -   
 (614) 235-5747 
 www.crisohio.org 
 Deaf World Against Violence Everywhere (DWAVE) -  

Video Phone: (614) 678-5476 or (877) 425-0148 
 Voice, Fax, TTY: (614) 670-8796 
 www.dwaveohio.org  
 Ethiopian Tewahedo Social Services - (614)  252-5362 
 www.ethiotss.org 
 Franklin County Board of Developmental DisabiliƟes -  
 (614) 475-6440 
 www.fcbdd.org 
 Franklin County Children Services - (614) 229-7000    
 www.franklincountyohio.gov/children_services 
 Franklin County Clerk of Courts  

 Common Pleas Court, Criminal Division -  
       (614) 525-3650 
 Civil Division - (614) 525-3621 
 DomesƟc RelaƟons - (614) 525-4410 
 www.franklincountyohio.gov/clerk/cio.cfm 

 Franklin County Municipal Clerk of Courts -  
 (614) 645-8186 
 www.fcmcclerk.com 
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 Franklin County Prosecutor’s Office - (614) 525-3555 
 www.prosecutor.franklincountyohio.gov 
 Franklin County ProsecuƟng AƩorney’s Office      

VicƟm Witness Assistance Unit - (614) 525-3555 
 www.prosecutor.franklincountyohio.gov/criminal-
 division/vicƟm-witness-unit  
 Franklin County Sheriff (non-emergency) -  
 (614) 525-3333 
 www.sheriff.franklin.oh.us 
 Franklin County Sheriff,  DetecƟve Bureau -  
 (614) 525-3350 
 www.sheriff.franklin.oh.us 
 Hands on Central Ohio - (614) 221-6766 OR 211 
 www.handsoncerntralohio.org 
 Huckleberry House - (614) 294-5553 
 www.huckhouse.org 
 Jewish Family Services - (614) 231-1890  
 www.jfscolumbus.org 
 Legal Aid Society - (614) 224-8374   
 www.columbuslegalaid.org 
 Mt. Carmel Crime and Trauma Assistance Program -  
 (614) 234-5900    
 www.mountcarmelhealth.com/ctap-services 
 NaƟonal Human Trafficking Hotline -  
 (888) 373-7888 
 Net Care Access (24-hour mental health services) -  
 (614) 276-2273 
 www.netcareaccess.org 
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 Ohio Crime VicƟm JusƟce Center - (614) 848-8500
www.ocvjc.org 

 Ohio Department of RehabilitaƟon and CorrecƟon,
Office of VicƟm Services - (614) 728-1976

www.drc.ohio.gov/vicƟms 

 Ohio Hispanic CoaliƟon - (614) 840-9934

www.ohiohispaniccoaliƟon.org 

 Ohio VicƟms of Crime CompensaƟon Program -

1-800-584-2846 OR (614) 466-5610

www.ohioaƩorneygeneral.gov/Services/VicƟms/
VicƟms-CompensaƟon-ApplicaƟon 

 Sexual Assault Response Network of Central Ohio
(SARNCO) 24-Hour Rape Helpline  - (614) 267-7020

www.ohiohealth.com/sarnco 

 Somali Community AssociaƟon of Ohio - (614) 262-4068

www.somaliohio.org 

 Southeast, Inc. - (614) 225-0990

www.southeasƟnc.com 

 Suicide PrevenƟon 24-hour Hotline - (614) 221-5445

 VINE (VicƟm InformaƟon & NoƟficaƟon Everyday) -

1-800-770-0192

www.vinelink.com
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DEFINITIONS OF CHARGES 

Sexual Assault: Sexual assault occurs when someone forces or coerces 
you into a sex act without your consent. 

DomesƟc Violence: DomesƟc violence occurs when your spouse, inƟ-
mate partner, or family or household member threatens with words and/
or weapons, aƩempts to cause, or causes you bodily harm (for example: 
hiƫng, slapping, punching, kicking, biƟng or strangling). 

Stalking: Stalking occurs when someone’s repeated acts cause you men-
tal distress and/or fear of bodily harm (for example: they follow you, call 
you, threaten you, or contact you repeatedly). 

All of the above are considered crimes of violence.  If you are a vicƟm 
of any of these or other violent crimes, make sure you are physically 
safe and call 911.  If you have been injured, seek medical aƩenƟon. 

IF YOU HAVE BEEN THE VICTIM OF A SEXUAL ASSAULT 

 Seek medical care at a local emergency department.  The emergen-
cy department staff can collect physical evidence, and they will doc-
ument any injuries if you wish. 

 Local emergency departments offer comprehensive and supporƟve
services to vicƟms of sexual assault.  Emergency departments have
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SANE’s), who are specially trained
in the field of forensic nursing and the collecƟon of evidence, and 
advocates who specialize in supporƟng sexual assault survivors.
Both can assist you through the hospital process.

 For the best evidence collecƟon results: avoid bathing, douching,
brushing your teeth, going to the bathroom, smoking, or changing
clothes before going to the hospital.  If you change your clothes,
bring the clothes you were wearing at the Ɵme of the assault with
you.

 If you are the vicƟm of sexual assault, contact the Sexual Assault 
Response Network of Central Ohio (SARNCO) 24‐hour Rape Help‐
line at (614) 267‐7020, or toll free through the Rape, Abuse & In‐
cest NaƟonal Network (RAINN) at 1 800‐656‐HOPE.
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IF YOU HAVE BEEN THE VICTIM OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 

 If you are a vicƟm of domesƟc violence, call the police or the Colum‐
bus City Prosecutor’s Office DomesƟc Violence and Stalking Unit, 
(614) 645‐6232, Monday –Friday 8:00 a.m. -4:30 p.m.   

 Your safety and the safety of your children are more important than 
anything else.  If you are afraid that your partner may hurt you, 
advocates are available to help you develop a safety plan: 

 Call CHOICES 24-hour hotline at (614) 224-4663. 

 Plan ahead for someplace to go if your partner threatens you or 
makes you feel unsafe.  Go to a neighbor, friend or family mem-
ber you can trust to help you and/or your children. 

 Decide on a door or window to exit quickly and safely to escape. 

 Do not confront or challenge your partner if they are intoxicated 
or on drugs. 

 Try to set aside some cash, extra clothing, extra keys for the 
house and cars, and any important documents for you and your 
family (for example: social security cards, birth cerƟficates, di-
vorce documents, passports, visas and immigraƟon papers).  If 
you need to leave the house in a hurry, think about where you 
can safely keep these things (perhaps a friend’s, relaƟve’s or 
neighbor’s house). 

IF YOU HAVE BEEN THE VICTIM OF STALKING 

 Call the police and make a report each Ɵme an incident occurs. 

 Contact the Columbus City Prosecutor’s Office DomesƟc Violence 
and Stalking Unit, (614) 645‐6232, Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.— 4:30 
p.m. 

 Do not discard anything that could be used as evidence.  Keep all 
leƩers, text messages, voicemails, etc.   

 

NOTES: If the police file a charge, you can check the status of the case by 
contacƟng the Franklin County Clerk of Courts.  If the police did not file a 
charge, or you are unsure if a charge was filed, contact the Columbus City 
Prosecutor’s Office DomesƟc Violence and Stalking Unit or the Franklin 
County Prosecutor’s Office VicƟm Witness Assistance Unit. 
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STEPS IN THE PROSECUTION OF A MISDEMEANOR 

Misdemeanor charges may be filed by the police, or the police may refer 
you to the City Prosecutor’s Office (Intake Department) to file a criminal 
complaint.  A misdemeanor is a crime in which the maximum penalty is 6 
months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. 

Misdemeanor cases are prosecuted by: 

 Columbus City AƩorney’s Office 

 Prosecutor’s Division 

 375 S. High St., 7th Floor 

 Columbus, Ohio 43215 

 (614) 645-7483 

 www.columbuscityaƩorney.org 

Please call the City Prosecutor’s Office for Intake Department hours of 
operaƟon. 

Once the defendant has been arrested, or summoned into court, the court 
process is as follows:  (See page 12 for diagram). 

1. Arraignment 

 The defendant enters a plea (almost always ‘Not 
Guilty’ at this stage). 

 VicƟms generally must be present in order to request 
a protecƟon order (see page 18).  A protecƟon order is  
available for domesƟc violence and stalking situaƟons.  
If you do not want a protecƟon order, it is not manda-
tory to appear for the arraignment. 

 A Judge sets bond.  The offender may or may not be 
able to get out of jail.   

 A legal advocate will be available to help you. 

NOTE: Contact VINE at 1‐800‐770‐0192 for informaƟon 
about offender’s incarceraƟon status. 

2.      Pre‐Trial Conference 

 The case is assigned to a permanent Judge. 

 The vicƟm will be requested to appear, but in certain 
circumstances may be placed on telephone standby by 
the prosecutor. 
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 The prosecutor and defense aƩorney exchange infor-
maƟon and evidence. 

 The defendant can plead guilty to the original charge(s)
or to a lesser charge and get sentenced.  If there is no
resoluƟon at this phase, the case will be conƟnued
(postponed).

3. Trial /Plea

 The case can go to trial where a jury or Judge, aŌer
hearing all of the evidence, decides whether the de-
fendant is guilty or not guilty of the charges. 

 The defendant can sƟll plead guilty at this stage and
waive their right to trial.

 The case can be conƟnued several Ɵmes at this stage. 

 The vicƟm will generally have to tesƟfy at trial.

 The vicƟm will not have to tesƟfy if a plea agreement is
reached.  The vicƟm will be informed of plea negoƟa-
Ɵons and agreements. 

 The vicƟm has a right to be present during the plea and
may make a VicƟm Impact Statement to the court.

4. Sentencing 

 The vicƟm has the right to give a VicƟm Impact State-
ment at the sentencing hearing. 

 The Judge decides the penalty to impose upon the de-
fendant.  This could range from probaƟon and/or a fine
to jail Ɵme, depending on the crime.

5. Appeal 

 The defendant and their aƩorney may, in rare circum-
stances, appeal the sentence of the court.  An appeal is
not common in misdemeanor cases.

 If the defendant accepts a plea agreement, there is
usually no appeal.

NOTES: It is the sole discreƟon of the prosecutor to dismiss charges.  It is 
not up to you to decide if charges will be dismissed.  There are many cases 
set in each courtroom each day.  Please be prepared to wait.  You may be 
here for a few hours, so prepare accordingly (it is not recommended that 
you park at a meter, as you may be Ɵcketed).  Bringing a support person or 
something to read is a good idea.  A safe place to wait will be provided for 
you. 
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STEPS IN THE PROSECUTION OF A FELONY 

Felony charges are filed by the police.  Felony crimes are considered very 
serious and can result in the offender being sent to prison. 

Felony cases are prosecuted by: 

Franklin County Prosecutor 

373 S. High St., 14th Floor 

Columbus, OH 43215 

(614) 525-3555

www.prosecutor.franklincountyohio.gov

If you contact the police about a felony, they will usually assign a detecƟve 
to invesƟgate the complaint.  When the detecƟve believes they have suffi-
cient evidence, they present the case to the Franklin County Prosecutor’s 
Office.  (See page 13 for diagram) 

1. Grand Jury

 The case is presented to the Grand Jury who decide
whether or not criminal charges should be filed.

 The defendant may be in jail at this Ɵme if the police
filed a warrant.

 The vicƟm may be required to tesƟfy at the Grand Jury
hearing.

 The Grand Jury is not open to the public and the infor-
maƟon is confidenƟal.

 If the defendant has not already been arrested, a war-
rant may be issued aŌer the Grand Jury hearing.

2. Arraignment

 The defendant enters a plea (always ‘Not Guilty’).

 A ProtecƟon Order can be requested (see page 18).

 The judge sets bond.  The defendant may or may not
be able to  get out of jail.

NOTE: Contact VINE at 1‐800‐770‐0192 for informaƟon about offender’s 
incarceraƟon status. 
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3. Pre‐trial Conference

 The trial court judge may schedule a pre-trial
conference to meet with the prosecutor and the
defense aƩorney to discuss the case.

 The vicƟm is usually not required to be present.

4. Trial/Plea

 The vicƟm may be requested to appear, but in
certain circumstances may be placed on tele-
phone standby by the prosecutor.

 The case can go to trial where a jury or a judge,
aŌer hearing all of the evidence, decides wheth-
er the defendant is guilty or not guilty of the
charges.

 The vicƟm will generally have to tesƟfy at trial.

 The vicƟm will not have to tesƟfy if a plea agree-
ment is reached.  The vicƟm will be informed of
plea negoƟaƟons and agreements.

 The vicƟm has a right to be present during the
plea and may make a VicƟm Impact Statement to
the court.

NOTE: There will likely be many trial dates set.  ConƟnu-
ances are very common, and are not indicaƟve of the 
strength or importance of a case.  Most oŌen, the trial 
date will be conƟnued for scheduling purposes. 

5. Pre‐Sentence InvesƟgaƟon (P.S.I.)

 A pre-sentence invesƟgaƟon report is someƟmes
prepared in order to provide the judge infor-
maƟon needed in order to properly sentence the
defendant. The vicƟm may include a VicƟm Im-
pact Statement in the report.
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6. Sentencing

 The vicƟm has the right to make a wriƩen and/
or oral VicƟm Impact Statement at the sen-
tencing hearing.  A vicƟm witness assistant can
assist you with the preparaƟon of a VicƟm Im-
pact Statement.

 The Judge will decide what penalty to impose
on the defendant.  This could range from pro-
baƟon and/or a fine, to prison Ɵme, depending
on the crime and other factors.

7. Appeal

 If the defendant is found guilty, the defendant
and their aƩorney will likely appeal the verdict
and/or the sentence of the court.

 If the defendant accepts a plea agreement,
there is usually no appeal.

NOTES: Remember – there will be a vicƟm witness assistant 
available to assist you throughout this process.  It is the sole dis-
creƟon of the prosecutor to dismiss charges.  It is not up to you 
to decide if charges will be dropped or dismissed.  There are 
many cases set in each courtroom each day.  Please be prepared 
to wait.  You may be here for a few hours, so prepare according-
ly (it is not recommended that you park at a meter, as you may 
be Ɵcketed).  Bringing a support person or something to read is a 
good idea.  A safe place to wait will be provided for you. 
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IF YOUR CASE GOES TO COURT 

In Franklin County, criminal cases are heard in either: 

 Franklin County Municipal Court – this court is responsible for
misdemeanor cases.  These cases are handled by the Columbus
City AƩorney’s Office.  They can be reached at (614) 645-7483.

 Franklin County Court of Common Pleas – this court is respon-
sible for felony cases.  These cases are handled by  the Franklin
County Prosecutor’s Office.  They can be reached at (614) 525-
3555.

If you are not sure whether you are a vicƟm of a misdemeanor or 
felony crime, you can call either prosecutor’s offices listed.  You 
must have either the defendant’s name or the case number when 
you call. 

A legal advocate or vicƟm witness assistant will be available to 
help you through the enƟre court process. 

IMPORTANT: 

 Always wear proper clothes to court.  If in doubt, call your
prosecutor or vicƟm witness assistant.

 Some judges do not allow children in the courtroom.  More
importantly, certain informaƟon discussed in court can be very
traumaƟc for children.  Try to find someone to take care of your
children while you are in court, or bring someone with you to
watch your children.

 If you are interested in obtaining a ProtecƟon Order, please
see Page 18 for more informaƟon, or contact a legal advocate or
vicƟm witness assistant.

 If you need an interpreter, one will be provided for you at no
cost.  If possible, please noƟfy the office assisƟng you in advance
so that arrangements for the interpreter can be made.

 A safe place to wait will be provided for you.
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PROTECTION ORDERS 

VicƟms of certain types of violent crimes may be eligible for a ProtecƟon 
Order.  A ProtecƟon Order is a temporary order intended to help provide 
safety and protecƟon to vicƟms of certain crimes. 

There are four types of ProtecƟon Orders that are enforceable by the 
police: 

1. DomesƟc Violence Temporary ProtecƟon Order (DVTPO)

2. Criminal ProtecƟon Order (CrPO)

3. Civil ProtecƟon Order (CPO)

4. Stalking Sexually Oriented Offender ProtecƟon Order
(SSOOPO) 

NOTES: 

 A ‘Stay Away Order’ as a condiƟon of bond
CANNOT be enforced by the police, only by the
issuing judge.

 Restraining Orders issued in divorce cases CANNOT
be enforced by the police.

 There must be a criminal charge filed to request a
DVTPO or a CrPO.  The prosecutor will assist you in
seeking either a DVTPO or CrPO.

 Criminal charges do not have to be filed for a CPO
or SSOOPO.  An aƩorney is not required, but it is
recommended that you obtain legal representaƟon
in order to request a CPO or SSOOPO.

 There is no court fee for ProtecƟon Orders.

 If you aren’t sure if you qualify or have a quesƟon,
you may contact an advocate at the City AƩorney’s
Office at (614) 645‐6232 or the County Prosecutor’s
Office at (614) 525‐3555.
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A ProtecƟon Order is intended for persons who are in fear for their safety.  
Once a ProtecƟon Order is issued, the offender can have no contact with 
you, even with your permission.  Only a Judge can change the terms and 
condiƟons of the Order.  ViolaƟon of a ProtecƟon Order is a crime.  The 
offender can be arrested for violaƟng the ProtecƟon Order. 

If you have quesƟons about Criminal or Civil ProtecƟon Orders, please call 
the Columbus City Prosecutor’s DomesƟc Violence and Stalking Unit at (614) 
645-6232 or the Franklin County Prosecutor’s Office VicƟm Witness Assis-
tance Unit at (614) 525-3555.

When you have a ProtecƟon Order 

 Make sure you have a copy of your ProtecƟon Order with
you at all Ɵmes!

 Have absolutely no contact with the offender while a Protec-
Ɵon Order is in place.

 Do not go where the offender is staying or places they may
be. 

 Do not invite the offender into your home or to meet you
elsewhere. 

 Take a copy of the ProtecƟon Order to your neighborhood
police staƟon so they will have a copy on file.

 Change your door locks and keep your doors and windows
locked.

 Put sturdy sƟcks in windows and sliding glass doors.

 Alert neighbors, co-workers, schools and daycare centers to
call police if offender is seen at your home, work, or school.

 Have someone stay with you, if possible.

 Try not go out alone.  Be around people whenever possible.
Witnesses are very important.

 Always be aware of your surroundings.
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COMMON TERMS IN CRIMINAL COURT 

Arraignment: IniƟal appearance where the offender is for-
mally noƟfied of the crime(s) with which they have been 
charged.  Arraignment court is also where iniƟal bond is set or 
adjusted and ProtecƟon Orders may be granted. 

Bond: AŌer an arrest, a judge will determine what bond to 
set to make sure the defendant appears in court.  There are 3 
types of bonds: 

Recognizance/Unsecured Appearance Bond (ROR) – 
allows the defendant to get out of jail on their 
signature. 

Appearance Bond – the defendant must give the 
court 10% of the bond amount plus a court fee 
before being released.   

Cash/Surety Bond – defendant must pay the enƟre 
bond amount in cash or hire a bail bondsman (a 
bondsman’s non-refundable fees are 10% of the 
enƟre bond). 

Complaint: The official sworn statement of the offense that 
gives the statute under which the defendant was arrested. 

ConƟnuance or ConƟnued: A delay of a court hearing to an-
other day.  (e.g. “The case will be conƟnued”). 

Court (or Bench) Trial:  A trial before a judge, not a jury. 

Defendant/Offender: The subject of a criminal charge. 

Defense AƩorney: A lawyer hired or appointed to represent 
the defendant (can be either public or private). 

Evidence: Anything shown in court to support a case.  
Can include tesƟmony by the vicƟm, defendant or an-
other witness, documents, photographs, items of cloth-
ing, weapons, and police or medical records. 
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Grand Jury: A group of people who consider cases presented 
for felony indictment.  Proceedings are confidenƟal and closed to 
the public. 

Indictment: Formal felony charges returned by the Grand Jury. 
May be one or more charges – each charge is called a ‘count’. 

Legal Advocate or VicƟm Witness Assistant: Employee of the 
prosecutor’s office who assists the vicƟm in navigaƟng the court 
process. 

Ohio VicƟms of Crime CompensaƟon Program:  A program 
where a vicƟm of crime may apply for reimbursement of costs 
(such as medical bills, lost wages, material losses, or counseling) 
as a result of the crime vicƟmizaƟon.  (1-800-584-2846). 

Plea Agreement: When a defendant agrees to plead guilty, 
oŌen to a lesser charge, in order to avoid a trial.

Preliminary Hearing: An iniƟal hearing to determine if there is 
sufficient evidence to go forward with felony charges.  These are 
rarely held in Franklin County. 

Probable Cause: A showing prior to a trial that there is enough 
evidence against the defendant to proceed with the case. 

ProbaƟon/Community Control: A sentence that requires the 
defendant to report to a probaƟon officer, and to follow the 
rules as ordered by a judge, (for example: aƩend counseling, 
maintain employment, obtain drug and alcohol screening) in or-
der to stay out of jail or prison. 

Prosecutor: The aƩorney who represents the State of Ohio in a 
criminal case. 
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P.S.I. (Pre‐sentence InvesƟgaƟon): Report that is pre-
pared by the ProbaƟon Department in order to provide 
the judge informaƟon needed to sentence the defendant. 

SANE (Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner): Nurses who are 
specially trained in the field of forensic nursing and the 
collecƟon of evidence for sexual assault kits. 

Subpoena: A court order for a vicƟm or witness to ap-
pear in court. 

Summons: A court order for a defendant to appear in 
court. 

Trial: Where the defendant takes their case for hearing 
before members of the jury or a judge. 

VicƟm Impact Statement: WriƩen and/or oral statement 
from a crime vicƟm, in their own words, about how a 
crime has affected them. 

VINE (VicƟm InformaƟon & NoƟficaƟon Everyday): A 
free automated telephone service that will allow vicƟms 
of crime to access offender informaƟon 24 hours a day.  
VicƟms can also register their phone number anonymous-
ly with VINE to be noƟfied when there is a change with 
the offender’s status.  (1-800-770-0192 or 
www.vinelink.com). 

Warrant/Capias: A term used for an order issued by a 
judge when the defendant does not appear in court. 
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Included in this booklet is a map of the Franklin County 
Government Complex (page 24) and a map showing the 
downtown area (page 25).  There is parking all around the 
complex, and numerous bus routes.   

 There are several parking garages nearby.  The Fulton
Street Parking Garage can be accessed from either
Mound Street or Fulton Street. The Front Street Park-
ing Garage can be accessed on Front Street.  The Co-
lumbus Commons Parking Garage is also nearby, and
can be accessed from either Main Street or Rich
Street.  Parking availability in these garages is limited.

 If you park in a parking lot, be aware that the cost of
parking lots vary.  You should come prepared with ex-
tra cash and leave yourself plenty of Ɵme to walk from
the parking lot to the courthouse.

 Using a parking meter is not recommended, since you
will probably be at the courthouse for quite a while,
and you may not be able to leave to put money in the
meter.

 For bus informaƟon, call COTA at (614) 228-1776 or
visit www.cota.com.

 If you are not sure where to go when you get to the
courthouse, security personnel may be able to assist
you.

NOTE: The courthouse is a secure facility.  You will not be 
permiƩed to bring in any weapons or items that could be 
used as a weapon. 

COURTHOUSE INFORMATION 
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1. Franklin County Common Pleas Courthouse 

2. Juvenile DetenƟon Center & Front Street Parking    
Garage 

3. Franklin County CorrecƟons Center I 

4. Franklin County Courthouse/Office Tower 

5. Pavilion 

6. Franklin County Judicial Services Building 

7. Atrium 

8. Franklin County Municipal Court 

9. James A. Karnes Building 

10. Fulton Street Parking Garage 
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Remember, you are not alone.  There are places you can go 
for assistance if you have been the vicƟm of sexual assault, 
domesƟc violence, or stalking.  Crime vicƟms are strongly 
encouraged to contact the agencies menƟoned in this book-
let for help, detailed informaƟon, and community resources. 
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Revised, 2017 

To request addiƟonal copies of this booklet, 
please contact the Franklin County              

Prosecutor’s Office, VicƟm Witness Assistance 
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