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ProsecutorόǎǘŀǘŜΩǎ ŀǘǘƻǊƴŜȅΣ ŘƛǎǘǊƛŎǘ ŀǘǘƻǊƴŜȅύ ς
A government attorney who presents the state's case against 
the defendant in a criminal prosecution.





Å Juvenile Court has jurisdiction over anyone who commits an act 
while under 18 years old that would be a crime if committed by 
an adult. 
Åά5ŜƭƛƴǉǳŜƴǘ ŎƘƛƭŘέ

Å Once adjudicated delinquent, the juvenile may be subject to 
juvenile court jurisdiction until age 21.

Å Some cases may be transferred to adult court.
Åά.ƛƴŘƻǾŜǊέ 



Ohio adopted statewide juvenile court system in 1906.

Focus on rehabilitation rather than punishment.

tǳǊǇƻǎŜǎ ƻŦ ŀŘǳƭǘ ŦŜƭƻƴȅ ǎŜƴǘŜƴŎƛƴƎΣ ƻƴ ǘƘŜ ƻǘƘŜǊ ƘŀƴŘΣ άŀǊŜ 
to protect the public from future crime by the offender and 
ƻǘƘŜǊǎ ŀƴŘ ǘƻ ǇǳƴƛǎƘ ǘƘŜ ƻŦŦŜƴŘŜǊΦέ wΦ/Φ § 2929.11(A)

Ohio Revised Code § 2152:
Å Protect public interest and safety;
Å Hold offenders accountable;
Å Restore victims;
Å Rehabilitate offenders;
Å Provide for the care, protection, and mental 

and physical development of children
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2016 ςMore than 5,000juvenile delinquency 
cases in Franklin County



JUVENILEDISPOSITIONSCANINCLUDE:
Å Commitment to the Ohio Department of Youth Services (DYS)

Å Felonies only

Å Commitment to residential treatment facilities

Å Juvenile Offender Registrant (juvenile version of Sex Offender Registration)

Å Probation

Å House arrest/electronic monitoring

Å Community service

Å Counseling services/drug/alcohol treatment

Å Restitution/fines/court costs

Å Child Protective Services



Å A felony committed by someone 14 years or older may be tried in adult court.

Å Court considers several factors including:
Å Likelihood child can be rehabilitated in the juvenile system;
Å Community safety;
Å Age;
Å Physical and mental maturity of child;
Å Past attempts at rehabilitation;
Å Harm suffered by victim;
Å Use of a firearm.



Å Mandatory Bindover-
In some situations, the judge MUST bindovera juvenile to adult court.

Å Common examples include (16 & 17 year olds charged with):
Å Murder
Å Attempted murder
Å Rape*
Å Aggravated Arson*
Å Aggravated Robbery*
Å Aggravated Burglary*

*When firearm is used or juvenile was permanently 
committed to DYS for one of these charges previously.



Å School administration may search student property, including 
bookbags, purses, lockers, cars, cell phones, etc.

Å Depends on reasonableness, under all the circumstances, of 
the search.

Source: New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325 (1985)



1. Reasonable groundsto suspect that the search will turn up evidence that 
the student has violated either the law or school rules, AND

2. The measures adopted are reasonably relatedto the objectives of the 
search and not excessively intrusivein light of the age and sex of the 
student and the nature of the infraction.

**Lower standard than what is required by law enforcement!

Source: New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325 (1985)


