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 ASHA Ray of Hope - (614) 326-2121   

   www.asharayofhope.org 

 Asian American Community Services - (614) 220-4023    

 www.aacsohio.org 

 BRAVO (Buckeye Region Anti-Violence Organization) - 
 (614) 294-7867   

  www.bravo-ohio.org 

 The Buckeye Ranch Visitation and Exchange Program -  

 (614) 594-9017 

 www.buckeyeranch.org/Visitation_and_Exchange.html 

 Capital University Law School Family Advocacy Clinic - 

 (614) 236-6779   

 www.law.capital.edu 

 The Center for Family Safety and Healing - (614) 722-8200 

 www.nationwidechildrens.org/ccfa 

 CHOICES (Domestic Violence 24-hour hotline) - 

  (614) 224-4663 

  www.choicescolumbus.org 

 Columbus City Prosecutor’s Office Domestic Violence & Stalking 
 Unit - (614) 645-6232   

 www.columbuscityattorney.org 

 Columbus City Prosecutor’s Office - (614) 645-7483   

 www.columbuscityattorney.org 

 Columbus Division of Police (non-emergency) -  

 (614) 645-4545   

 www.columbuspolice.org 

 Columbus Division of Police Domestic Violence Unit - 

 (614) 645-7225 

 Columbus Division of Police Special Victims Bureau -  

 (614) 645-4701 

 Columbus Public Health Department - (614) 645-7772   

 www.publichealth.columbus.gov 

     IF YOU ARE IN FEAR OR DANGER CALL 911 

IMPORTANT PHONE NUMBERS & WEBSITE ADDRESSES 



3 

 

  

 

 

 Columbus Urban League, Victim Assistance Program - (614) 257-6300 

 www.cul.org 

 Deaf World Against Violence Everywhere (DWAVE) - Video Phone:       
 (614) 678-5476 or (877) 425-0148 

 Voice, Fax, TTY: (614) 670-8796 

 www.dwaveohio.org  

 Franklin County Children Services - (614) 229-7000    

 www.franklincountyohio.gov/children_services 

 Franklin County Clerk of Courts 

 Municipal Court - (614) 645-8186  

 www.fcmcclerk.com 

 Common Pleas Court, Criminal Division - (614) 525-3650 

 www.franklincountyohio.gov/clerk/cio.cfm 

 Civil Division - (614) 525-3621 

 Domestic Relations - (614) 525-4410 

 Franklin County Prosecutor’s Office - (614) 525-3555 

 www.franklincountyohio.gov/Prosecuting_Attorney 

 Franklin County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office  Victim Witness  

 Assistance Unit - (614) 525-3555 

 www.franklincountyohio.gov/Prosecuting_Attorney/ 
 victimwitnessunit.cfm 

 Franklin County Sheriff (non-emergency) - (614) 525-3333 

 www.sheriff.franklin.oh.us 

 Franklin County Sheriff,  Detective Bureau - (614) 525-3350 

 www.sheriff.franklin.oh.us 

 Hands on Central Ohio - (614) 221-6766 OR 211 

 www.handsoncerntralohio.org 

 Huckleberry House - (614) 294-5553 

 www.huckhouse.org 

 Jewish Family Services/Center for Victims of Torture - 

 (614) 231-1890  

 www.jfscolumbus.org 

 Legal Aid Society - (614) 224-8374   

 www.columbuslegalaid.org 
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 Mt. Carmel Crime and Trauma Assistance Program -  

 (614) 234-5900    

 www.mountcarmelhealth.com/programs-services/crime-
 trauma-assistance 

 Net Care Access (24-hour mental health services) -  

 (614) 276-2273 

 www.netcareaccess.org 

 Ohio Commission on Hispanic & Latino Affairs -  

 (614) 466-8333 

 www.ochla.ohio.gov 

 Ohio Hispanic Coalition - (614) 840-9934 

 www.ohiohispaniccoalition.org 

 Ohio Victims of Crime Compensation Program -  

 1-800-584-2846 OR (614) 466-5610 

 www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Victims/Victims-
 Compensation-Application 

 SARNCO Rape Helpline (24-hour) - (614) 267-7020 

 www.ohiohealth.com 

 Somali Women & Children’s Alliance - (614) 473-9999 

 www.swaca.org 

 Southeast, Inc. - (614) 225-0990 

 www.southeastinc.com 

 Suicide Prevention 24-hour Hotline - (614) 221-5445 

 VINE (Victim Information & Notification Everyday) -  

 1-800-770-0192 

 www.vinelink.com 
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INTRODUCTION 

Sexual assault, domestic violence and stalking are acts intended to 
intimidate, hurt, humiliate, degrade, dominate and control another 
person.  If something like this has happened to you, it is important 
to remember that whatever you did or did not do, it was not your 
fault.  The person that did this to you is to blame; you did not de-
serve it or ask for it.  You may be a victim of a crime. 

If you have been a victim of crime, you have rights. 

The following information is intended as a basic guide for victims 
of violent crime in Franklin County.  Sexual assault, domestic vio-
lence and stalking are violent crimes frequently committed against 
women, men and children. 

Crime victims are often afraid to talk about what has happened to 
them.  They may be unsure how the court system works, or they 
may be afraid of what will happen to them, their family, or the per-
petrator.  While these are common and normal fears, there are 
places that you can go for assistance if you have been the victim of 
sexual assault, domestic violence or stalking. 

Furthermore, the agencies listed in this booklet are sensitive to cul-
tural issues and have experience working with diverse populations.  
While respecting the law, they will attempt to provide you with ser-
vices or refer you to programs familiar with your situation. 

This booklet is not intended as a complete guide to community 
resources.  Crime victims are strongly encouraged to contact the 
agencies mentioned in this booklet for more detailed information 
and community referral resources. 

As a victim you may be eligible to receive compensation through the 
Ohio Victims of Crime Compensation Program.  Contact this pro-
gram directly for more information. 

 

Remember – you are not responsible for the offender’s behavior 
and cannot control or change their behavior. 
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BASIC DEFINITIONS 

Sexual Assault: Sexual assault occurs when someone forces or coerces you 
into a sex act against your wishes (without your consent). 

Domestic Violence: Domestic violence occurs when your spouse, intimate 
partner, or family or household member threatens with words and/or 
weapons, attempts to cause, or causes you bodily harm (for example: hit-
ting, slapping, punching, kicking, biting or choking). 

Stalking: Stalking occurs when someone’s repeated acts cause you mental 
distress and/or fear of bodily harm (for example: they follow you, call you, 
threaten you, or contact you repeatedly). 

 

All of the above are considered crimes of violence.  If you are a victim of 
any of these or other violent crimes, make sure you are physically safe 
and call 911.  If you have been injured, seek medical attention. 

 

IF YOU HAVE BEEN THE VICTIM OF A SEXUAL ASSAULT 

 Seek medical care at a local emergency department for any injuries you 
have (or may not know you have).  The emergency department staff 
can also collect physical evidence, and they will document any injuries 
if you wish. 

 Most local emergency departments offer comprehensive and support-
ive services to victims of sexual assault.  Most emergency departments 
have Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SANE’s), who are specially 
trained in the field of forensic nursing and the collection of evidence, 
and volunteer advocates, who specialize in supporting sexual assault 
survivors.  Both can assist you through the hospital process. 

 For the best evidence collection results: DO NOT bathe, douche, 
brush your teeth, go to the bathroom, smoke, or change clothes before 
going to the hospital.  If you must change your clothes, bring the 
clothes you were wearing at the time of the assault with you. 

 If you are the victim of sexual assault, contact the Sexual Assault Re-
sponse Network of Central Ohio (SARNCO) 24-hour Helpline at 
(614) 267-7020, or toll free through the Rape, Abuse & Incest Na-
tional Network (RAINN) at 1 800-656-HOPE. 
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IF YOU HAVE BEEN THE VICTIM OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 

 If you are a victim of domestic violence, call the police or the Colum-
bus City Prosecutor’s Office Domestic Violence and Stalking Unit, 
(614) 645-6232, Monday –Friday 8:00 a.m. -4:30 p.m.   

 Your safety and the safety of your children are more important than 
anything else.  If you are afraid that your partner may hurt you – 
develop a safety plan: 

 Call CHOICES 24-hour hotline at (614) 224-4663. 

 Plan ahead for someplace to go if your partner threatens you or 
makes you feel unsafe.  Go to a neighbor, friend or family member 
you can trust to help you and your children. 

 Decide on a door or window to exit quickly and safely to escape. 

 Do not confront or challenge your partner if he/she is intoxicated 
or on drugs. 

 Try to set aside some cash, extra clothing, extra keys for the house 
and cars, and any important documents for you and your family 
(for example: social security cards, birth certificates, divorce docu-
ments, passports, visas and immigration papers).  If you need to 
leave the house in a hurry, think about where you can safely keep 
these things (perhaps a friend’s, relative’s or neighbor’s house). 

IF YOU HAVE BEEN THE VICTIM OF STALKING 

 Call the police and make a report whenever an incident occurs. 

 Contact the Columbus City Prosecutor’s Office Domestic Violence 
and Stalking Unit, (614) 645-6232, Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.— 4:30 
p.m. 

 Do not discard anything that could be used as evidence.  Keep all let-
ters, text messages, voicemails, etc.   

NOTES: If the police file a charge, you can check the status of the case by 
contacting the Franklin County Clerk of Courts.  If the police did not file a 
charge, or you are unsure if a charge was filed, contact the Columbus City 
Prosecutor’s Office Domestic Violence and Stalking Unit.   
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IF YOUR CASE GOES TO COURT 

In Franklin County, criminal cases are heard in either: 

 Franklin County Municipal Court – this court is responsible for misde-
meanor cases. 

 Franklin County Court of Common Pleas – this court is responsible for 
felony cases. 

If you are not sure whether you are a victim of a misdemeanor or felony 
crime, you can call either prosecutor’s offices listed.  You must have either 
the defendant’s name or the case number when you call. 

 A legal advocate or victim witness assistant will be available 
to help you through the entire court process. 

 

IMPORTANT: 

 Always wear proper clothes to court!  If in doubt, call your prosecutor 
or victim witness assistant. 

 Try to find someone to take care of your children while you are in 
court, or bring someone with you to watch your children.  Some judges do 
not allow children in the courtroom.  More importantly, certain information 
discussed in court can be very traumatic for children. 

 If you are interested in obtaining a Protection Order, please see Page 16 
for more information. 

 If you need an interpreter, one will be provided for you. 
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STEPS IN THE PROSECUTION OF A MISDEMEANOR 

Misdemeanor charges may be filed by the police, or the police may refer you 
to the City Prosecutor’s Office (Intake Department) to file a criminal com-
plaint.  A misdemeanor is a crime in which the maximum penalty is 6 
months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. 

Misdemeanor cases are prosecuted by: 

 Columbus City Attorney’s Office 

 Prosecutor’s Division 

 375 S. High St., 7th Floor 

 Columbus, Ohio 43215 

 (614) 645-7483 

 www.columbuscityattorney.org 

Please call the City Prosecutor’s Office for Intake Department hours of oper-
ation. 

Once the defendant has been arrested, or summoned into court, the court 
process is as follows:  (See page 11 for diagram) 

1. Arraignment 

 Defendant enters a plea (almost always ‘Not Guilty’ at 
this stage). 

 Victims generally must be present in order to request a 
protection order (see page 16).  A protection order is 
generally available for domestic violence and stalking 
situations.  If victim does not want a protection order, it 
is not mandatory to appear for the arraignment. 

 Judge sets bond.  Offender may or may not be able to 
get out of jail.   

 A Legal Advocate will be available to help you. 

NOTE: Contact VINE for information about offender’s 
incarceration status. 

2.      Pre-Trial Conference 

 Case is assigned to a permanent judge. 

 Victim will be requested to appear, but in certain cir-
cumstances may be placed on telephone standby by the 
prosecutor. 
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 Prosecutor and defense attorney exchange information 

and evidence. 

 Defendant can plead guilty to original charge or to a less-
er charge and get sentenced.  If there is no resolution at 
this phase, the case will be continued or postponed. 

3.     Trial /Plea 

 The case can go to trial where a jury or judge, after hear-
ing all of the evidence, decides whether the defendant is 
guilty or not guilty of the charges. 

 Defendant can still plead guilty at this stage and waive 
his/her right to trial. 

 The case can be continued several times at this stage. 

 The victim will generally have to testify at trial. 

 The victim will not have to testify if a plea agreement is 
reached.  The victim will be informed of all plea negotia-
tions and agreements. 

 The victim has a right to be present during the plea and 
may make a Victim Impact Statement to the court. 

4. Sentencing 

 The victim has the right to give the court input at the 
sentencing hearing. 

 The judge decides the penalty to impose on the defend-
ant.  This could range from probation and/or a fine to 
jail time, depending on the crime. 

5. Appeal 

 The defendant and his/her attorney may, in rare circum-
stances, appeal the sentence of the court.  An appeal is 
not common in misdemeanor cases. 

 If the defendant accepts a plea agreement, there is usually 
no appeal. 

Remember – there will be a legal advocate available to assist you throughout 
this process. 
NOTES: It is the sole discretion of the prosecutor to dismiss charges.  It is not 
up to you to decide if charges will be dropped or dismissed.  Please be pre-
pared to wait.  There are many cases set in each courtroom each day.  You 
may be here for a few hours, so prepare accordingly (it is not recommended 
that you park at a meter, as you may be ticketed).  Bringing something to read 
is a good idea. 
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STEPS IN THE PROSECUTION OF A FELONY 

Felony charges are filed by the police.  Felony crimes are considered very 
serious and can result in the offender being sent to prison. 

Felony cases are prosecuted by: 

 Franklin County Prosecutor 

 373 S. High St., 14th Floor 

 Columbus, OH 43215 

 (614) 525-3555 

 www.franklincountyohio.gov/Prosecuting_Attorney 

If you contact the police about a felony, they will usually assign a detective to 
investigate the complaint.  When the detective believes they have sufficient 
evidence, they present the case to the Franklin County Prosecutor.  (See page 
12 for diagram) 

1. Grand Jury 

 The Franklin County Prosecutor presents the police 
information to the Grand Jury who decide whether or 
not criminal charges should be filed. 

 The defendant may be in jail at this time if the police 
filed a warrant. 

 The victim may be required to testify at the Grand Jury 
hearing. 

 The Grand Jury is not open to the public and the infor-
mation is kept confidential.  The defendant is not pre-
sent. 

 If the defendant has not already been arrested, a warrant 
may be issued after the Grand Jury hearing. 

2. Arraignment    

 Defendant enters a plea (always ‘Not Guilty’). 

 An Order of Protection can be requested (see page 16). 

 Judge sets bond.  Offender may or may not be able to 
 get out of jail. 
NOTE: Contact VINE for information about offender’s 
incarceration status. 
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3.     Pre-trial Conference 

 The trial court judge may schedule a pre-trial con-
ference to meet with the prosecutor and the de-
fense attorney to discuss the case. 

 Victim is usually not required to be present. 

4.     Trial/Plea 

 The case can go to trial where a jury or a judge, 
after hearing all of the evidence, decides whether 
the defendant is guilty or not guilty of the charges. 

 The victim may be requested to appear, but in 
certain circumstances may be placed on telephone 
standby by the prosecutor. 

 The victim will generally have to testify at trial. 

 The victim will not have to testify if a plea agree-
ment is reached.  The victim will be informed of 
all plea negotiations and agreements. 

 The victim has a right to be present during the 
plea and may make a Victim Impact Statement to 
the court. 

NOTES: There will likely be many trial dates set.  Con-
tinuances are very common, and are not indicative of 
the strength or importance of a case.  Most often, the 
trial date will be continued for scheduling purposes. 

5.     Pre-Sentence Investigation (P.S.I.) 

 A pre-sentence investigation report is sometimes 
prepared in order to provide the judge infor-
mation needed in order to properly sentence the 
defendant. The victim may include a victim impact 
statement in the report. 

 

 



15 

 

6.     Sentencing 

 The victim has the right to make a written and/
or oral victim impact statement at the sentenc-
ing hearing.  A victim witness assistant can assist 
you with the preparation of a victim impact 
statement. 

 The judge will decide what penalty to impose on 
the defendant.  This could range from probation 
and/or a fine to prison time, depending on the 
crime and other factors. 

7.     Appeal 

 If the defendant is found guilty, the defendant 
and his/her attorney will likely appeal the ver-
dict and/or the sentence of the court. 

 If the defendant accepts a plea agreement, there 
is usually no appeal. 

NOTES: 

 Remember – there will be a victim witness assistant 
available to assist you throughout this process. 

 It is the sole discretion of the prosecutor to dismiss 
charges.  It is not up to you to decide if charges will 
be dropped or dismissed. 

 Please be prepared to wait.  There are many cases 
set in each courtroom each day.  You may be here 
for a few hours, so prepare accordingly (it is not 
recommended that you park at a meter, as you may 
be ticketed).  Bringing something to read is a good 
idea. 
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PROTECTION ORDERS 

Victims of certain types of violent crimes may be eligible for a protection 
order.  An Order of Protection (protection order) is a temporary order 
intended to help provide safety and protection to victims of certain crimes. 

There are four types of Protection Orders that are enforceable by the 
police: 

1.  Domestic Violence Temporary Protection Order (DVTPO) 

2.  Criminal Protection Order (CrPO) 

3.  Civil Protection Order (CPO) 

4.  Stalking Sexually Oriented Offender Protection Order 
 (SSOOPO) 

NOTES:  

 A ‘Stay Away Order’ as a condition of bond CAN-
NOT be enforced by the police, only by the issuing 
judge. 

 Restraining Orders issued in divorce cases CAN-
NOT be enforced by the police. 

 There must be a criminal charge filed to request a 
DVTPO or a CRPO.  The prosecutor will represent 
you in seeking either a DVTPO or CRPO. 

 Criminal charges do not have to be filed for a CPO 
or SSOOPO.  An attorney is not required, but it is 
recommended that you obtain legal representation 
in order to request a CPO or SSOOPO. 

 There is no court fee for Protection Orders. 

 If you aren’t sure if you qualify or have a question, 
you may contact an advocate at the City Attorney’s 
Office at (614) 645-6232 or the County Prosecutor’s 
Office at (614) 525-3555. 
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Once a Protection Order is issued, the offender can have no contact with you, 
even with your permission.  Only a judge can change the terms and conditions 
of the Order.  A Protection Order is intended for persons who are in fear for 
their safety.  The offender can be arrested for violating the Protection Order. 

 

If you have questions about Criminal or Civil Protection Orders, please call the 
Columbus City Prosecutor’s Domestic Violence and Stalking Unit at (614) 645
-6232. 

 

When you have a Protection Order 

 Make sure you have a copy of your Protection Order with you 
at all times! 

 Have absolutely no contact with the offender until the case is 
over. 

 Do not go where the offender is staying or places he/she may 
be. 

 Do not invite the offender into your home or to meet you else-
where. 

 Take a copy of the Protection Order to your neighborhood 
police station so they will be aware of potential problems. 

 Change your door locks and keep your doors and windows 
locked. 

 Put sturdy sticks in windows and sliding glass doors. 

 Alert neighbors, co-workers, schools and daycare centers to call 
police if offender is seen at your home, work, or school. 

 Have someone stay with you, if possible. 

 Do not go out alone. 

 Remember that witnesses are very important.  Be around people 
whenever possible. 
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COMMON TERMS IN CRIMINAL COURT 

Advocate (Victim Witness Assistant): Employee of the prosecutor’s office 
who assists the victim in navigating the court process. 

Arraignment: Initial appearance where the offender is formally notified of 
the crime(s) with which he/she is charged.  Arraignment court is also where 
initial bond is set or adjusted and Protection Orders may be granted. 

Bond: After an arrest, a judge will determine what bond to set to make sure 
the defendant appears in court.  There are 3 types of bonds: 

Recognizance/Unsecured Appearance Bond (ROR) – allows the 
defendant to get out of jail on his/her signature. 

Appearance Bond – the defendant must give the court 10% of the 
bond amount plus a court fee before being released.  (For ex-
ample, a $1500 appearance bond will require at least $170 – 
including a $20 court fee – to get out of jail.) 

Cash/Surety Bond – defendant must pay the entire bond amount 
in cash or hire a bail bondsman (a bondsman’s non-refundable 
fees are 10% of the entire bond). 

Complaint: The official sworn statement of the offense that gives the statute 
under which the defendant was arrested. 

Continuance or Continued: A delay of a court hearing to another day.  (e.g. 
“The case will be continued”). 

Court (or Bench) Trial:  A trial before a judge, not a jury. 

Defendant: The person against whom a charge is brought. 

Defense Attorney: A lawyer hired or appointed to represent the defendant 
(can be either public or private). 

Evidence: Anything shown in court to support a case.  Can include testimony 
by the victim, defendant or another witness, documents, photographs, items 
of clothing, weapons, and police or medical records. 

Grand Jury: A group of people who consider cases presented for felony indict-
ment.  Proceedings are confidential and closed to the public. 

Indictment: Formal felony charges returned by the Grand Jury.  May be one 
or more charges – each charge is called a ‘count’. 

Offender: The subject of a criminal charge. 
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Ohio Victims of Crime Compensation Program:  A program where a vic-
tim of crime may apply for reimbursement of costs (such as medical bills, lost 
wages, material losses, or counseling) as a result of the crime victimization.  
(1-800-584-2846). 

Plea Agreement: When a defendant agrees to plead guilty, often to a lesser 
charge, in order to avoid a trial. 

Preliminary Hearing: An initial hearing to determine if there is sufficient 
evidence to go forward with felony charges. 

Probable Cause: A showing prior to a trial that there is enough evidence 
against the defendant to proceed with the case. 

Probation/Community Control: A condition of a sentence that requires 
the defendant to report to a probation officer, and to follow the rules as 
ordered by a judge, (for example: attend counseling, maintain employment, 
obtain drug and alcohol screening) in order to stay out of jail or prison. 

Prosecutor: The attorney who represents the State of Ohio in a criminal 
case. 

P.S.I. (Pre-sentence Investigation): Report that is prepared by the Probation 
Department in order to provide the judge information needed to sentence 
the defendant. 

SANE (Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner): Nurses who are specially trained in 
the field of forensic nursing and the collection of evidence for sexual assault 
kits. 

Subpoena: A court order for a victim or witness to appear in court. 

Summons: A court order for a defendant to appear in court. 

Trial: Where the defendant takes their case for hearing before members of 
the jury or a judge. 

VINE (Victim Information & Notification Everyday): A free automated 
telephone service that will allow victims of crime to access offender infor-
mation 24 hours a day.  Victims can also register their phone number anony-
mously with VINE to be notified when there is a change with the offender’s 
status.  (1-800-770-0192). 

Warrant/Capias: A term used for an order issued by a judge when the de-
fendant does not appear in court. 
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Included in this booklet is a map of the Franklin County courthouse com-
plex (page 21) and a map showing the downtown area (page 22).  There is 
parking all around the complex, and numerous bus routes.   

 There are several parking garages nearby.  The Franklin County 
Commissioners Garage can be accessed from either Mound St. or 
Fulton St. The Juvenile Detention Center Garage can be accessed on 
Front St.  City Center parking garage is also nearby, and can be ac-
cessed from either Main St. or Rich St.  Parking availability in these 
garages is limited. 

 If you park in a parking lot, be aware that the cost of parking lots 
vary.  You should come prepared with extra cash and leave yourself 
plenty of time to walk from the parking lot to the courthouse. 

 Using a parking meter is not recommended, since you will probably 
be at the courthouse for quite a while, and you may not be able to 
leave to put money in the meter. 

 For bus information, call COTA at (614) 228-1776. 

 If you are not sure where to go when you get to the courthouse, ask 
at the Information Desk in the lobby. 

 

NOTE: The courthouse is a secure facility.  You will not be permitted to 
enter if you have any weapons or items that could be used as a weapon. 

COURTHOUSE INFORMATION 
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1. Franklin County Common Pleas Courthouse, 345 S. High St. 

2. Juvenile Detention Center & Parking Garage 

3. Franklin County Corrections Center I 

4. Franklin County Courthouse, 373 S. High St. 

5. Pavilion 

6. Hall of Justice, 369 S. High St. 

7. Atrium 

8. Franklin County Municipal Court, 375 S. High St. 

9. James A. Karnes Building, 410 S. High St. 

10. Commissioners Garage 
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 Agency _____________________________ 
 

 Agency 

 Representative________________________ 
  

 Phone # _____________________________ 

 

 

 

 

 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 

Remember, you are not alone.  There are places you can go 
for assistance if you have been the victim of sexual assault, 
domestic violence, or stalking.  Crime victims are strongly 
encouraged to contact the agencies mentioned in this book-
let for help, detailed information, and community referral 
resources. 
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This booklet was funded under an fy 
2011 violence against women act grant 

as approved by the office on violence 
against women and the franklin county 

board of commissioners 

 

 

A special Thank You to representatives of the 
office of franklin county prosecuting attorney 
ron o’brien, Columbus city attorney Richard c. 

Pfeiffer, sarnco, choices, and the capital univer-
sity law school family advocacy clinic for their 

assistance in the review and revision of this  
booklet. 
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